The building is temporarily closed to the public until at least Tuesday, December 8. Learn more about our Phase 3 services.

Hours & Closures

The Library is open with restrictions:

  • Monday: 9:00am-5:00pm
  • Tuesday, Wednesday: 4:00-8:00pm
  • Thursday, Friday: 9:00am-5:00pm
  • Saturday: 11:00am-4:00pm
  • Sunday: 1:00-5:00pm

The Collaboratory is open by appointment only:

  • Tuesday & Wednesday: 4:00-8:00pm
  • Thursday & Friday: 10:00am-5:00pm
  • Saturday: 12:00-4:00pm

Emergency closings are listed on our homepage and our Facebook page

Scheduled 2020 Closures & Late Openings

  • New Year’s Day, Wednesday, January 1, 2020
  • Safety Training , Friday, January 24, 2020 (late open)
  • Safety Training , Friday, March 6, 2020 (library closed All Day)
  • Easter, Sunday, April 12, 2020 (not a paid holiday)
  • Staff Development Day, Friday, April 17, 2020 (library closed All Day)
  • Memorial Day, Monday, May 25, 2020
  • Fourth of July, Saturday, July 4, 2020
  • Safety Training, Friday, August 7, 2020 (late open)
  • Labor Day, Sunday, September 6, 2020
  • Labor Day, Monday, September 7, 2020
  • Election Day, Tuesday, November 3, 2020
  • Thanksgiving Eve, Wednesday, November 25, 2020 (close at 6:00 p.m.)
  • Thanksgiving, Thursday, November 26, 2020
  • Christmas Eve, Thursday, December 24, 2020
  • Christmas Day, Friday, December 25, 2020
  • New Year’s Eve, Thursday, December 31, 2020 (close at 3:00 p.m.)
  • New Year’s Day, Friday, January 1, 2021

Scheduled 2021 Closures & Late Openings

  • New Year’s Day, Friday, January 1, 2021
  • Safety Training, Thursday, January 21, 2021 (late open)
  • Easter, Sunday, April 4, 2021 (not a paid holiday)
  • Staff Development Day, Friday, May 14, 2021 (library closed All Day)
  • Memorial Day, Monday, May 31, 2021
  • Fourth of July, Sunday, July 4, 2021
  • Fourth of July, Monday, July 5, 2021
  • Safety Training, Friday, August 6, 2021 (late open)
  • Labor Day, Sunday, September 5, 2021
  • Labor Day, Monday, September 6, 2021
  • Thanksgiving Eve, Wednesday, November 24, 2021 (close at 6:00 p.m.)
  • Thanksgiving, Thursday, November 25, 2021
  • Christmas Eve, Friday, December 24, 2021
  • Christmas Day, Saturday, December 25, 2021
  • New Year’s Eve, Friday, December 31, 2021 (close at 3:00 p.m.)
  • New Year’s Day, Saturday, January 1, 2022

 

Location & Directions

We are located at:

1201 Cedar Lane
Northbrook, Illinois 60062

From the North:
Waukegan south to Shermer. Right on Shermer to the stoplight at Church. Right on Church. Street curves past Sunset Foods. Go under the train underpass. Library is on the left side on the next corner.

From the West:
Lake-Cook Road or Dundee east to Pfingsten. Right (south) on Pfingsten to Cherry. Left (east) on Cherry. Library is on corner of Cherry and Cedar just before the train underpass.

From the Southwest:
294 north to Willow. Right (east) on Willow to Pfingsten. Left (north) on Pfingsten to Cherry. Right (east) on Cherry. Library is on corner of Cherry and Cedar just before the train underpass.

From the South (Chicago):
North on Edens (94) to Willow. Left on Willow to Waukegan. Right (north) on Waukegan to Shermer. Left on Shermer to the stoplight at Church. Right on Church. Street curves past Sunset Foods. Go under the train underpass. Library is on the left side on the next corner.